Faculty

     

     

     

    Timothy A. Becker

    Associate Professor of Practice, Director, Bioengineering PhD Program, Department of Mechanical Engineering

    Email: Tim.Becker@nau.edu
    Phone:  928-523-1468
    Research interests: Advanced  materials used in translational medical device development, aneurysm and stroke modeling, brain vessel modeling, and mechanical characterization of biomaterials.
    ryan-behunin-pic

     

     Ryan Behunin

    Assistant Professor, Department of Applied Physics and Materials Science

    Email: Ryan.Behunin@nau.edu
    Phone: 928-523-0443
    Research interests: Optomechanics, Quantum Physics, Fluctuation-Induced Phenomena.

     

    Bertrand Cambou

    Professor, Applied Physics and Materials Science

    Email: Bertrand.Cambou@nau.edu
    Phone: 928-523-7824
    Research interests: Cybersecurity, Nanotechnology, Memristors, ReRAM, Post Quantum Cryptography

     

     

     

    Cindy C. Browder

    Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

    Email:Cindy.Browder@nau.edu
    Phone: 928-523-9062
    Research interests: Polymer electrolytes, polymer synthesis, power storage, supercapacitors, drug design, antimicrobial compounds, small molecule and heterocycle synthesis, synthetic methodology.

     

     

     

    Constantin “Cornel" Ciocanel

    Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Mechanical Engineering

    Email: Constantin.Ciocanel@nau.edu
    Phone: 928-523-2439
    Research interests: Smart materials, adaptive systems, power storage composite materials

     

     

     

    Heidi Feigenbaum

    Associate Professor and Associate Chair, Department of Mechanical Engineering

    Email: Heidi.Feigenbaum@nau.edu
    Phone: 928-523-5326
    Research interests: Continuum mechanics, constitutive modeling, solid mechanics, adaptive materials, and structure.

    John G. Gibbs

    Assistant Professor, Department of Applied Physics and Materials Science

    Email: John.Gibbs@nau.edu
    Phone: 928-523-1916
    Research interests: Dr. Gibbs is an experimental condensed matter physicist who primarily focuses on inorganic nanomaterials and their applications. Currently, his two main research areas are: (1) the fabrication and optical properties of metamaterials with nanoscale features, and (2) active transport and collective behavior of self-propelled particles at the micro- and nanoscale.

     

     

     

    Stephanie Hurst

    Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

    Email: Stephanie.Hurst@nau.edu
    Phone: 928- 523-6204
    Research interests: Inorganic and organometallic complexes with an emphasis on functional transition-metal systems with p-delocalization.

     

     

     

    Robert S. Kellar

    Associate Professor of Practice, Department of Biological Sciences

    Email: Robert.Kellar@nau.edu
    Phone: 928-523-9311
    Research interests: Development, characterization, and evaluation of biomaterials to make them more suitable for clinical use.

    Mark Loeffler

    Assistant Professor, Department of Astronomy and Planetary Science, Department of Applied Physics and Materials Science

    Email: Mark.Loeffler@nau.edu
    Phone: 928-523–0369
    Research interests: Materials Science, Surface Science, Physical Chemistry, Radiation Effects in Solids, Planetary Science

     

     

     

    Andy Koppisch

    Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

    Email: Andy.Koppisch@nau.edu
    Phone: 928- 523-8893
    Research interests: Development and characterization of antibiotic and antibiofilm materials, ionic liquids/deep eutectic solvents, secondary metabolism in bacteria, biosynthesis of terpenoids/isoprenoids.

    Naomi Lee

    Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

    Email: Naomi.Lee@nau.edu
    Phone: 928- 523-7379
    Research interests: Self-assembling peptides, virus-like particles, vaccines, biomaterials, nanofibrils

     

     

     

    Gerrick Lindberg

    Assistant Professor, Department of Applied Physics and Materials Science

    Email: Gerrick.Lindberg@nau.edu
    Phone: 928- 523-3897
    Research interests: Molecular scale modeling, modeling of soft condensed matter, biophysics, astrochemistry, enhanced sampling methods.

     

     

     

     

    Christopher Mann

    Associate Professor, Department of Applied Physics and Materials Science

    Email: Christopher.Mann@nau.edu
    Research interests: Optical Interferometry, holography, machine vision, materials imaging

     

     

     

    Jennifer S. Martinez

    Professor, Department of Applied Physics and Materials Science

    Email: Jennifer.Martinez@nau.edu
    Phone: 928-523-4304
    Research interests: Biomaterials, fluorescent nanoclusters, recombinant polymers, device integration, and biosensors

     

    Gabriel A. Montaño

    Professor and Department Chair, Department of Applied Physics and Materials Science

    Email: Gabriel.Montano@nau.edu
    Phone: 928-523-2353
    Research interests: Bio-inspired membrane materials, non-equilibrium materials, scanning-probe microscopy application development

     

     

     

    Inès Montaño

    Associate Professor, Department of Applied Physics and Materials Science

    Email: Ines.Montano@nau.edu
    Research interests: Quantum phenomena, novel nanoscale optoelectronics, and quantum computing devices, metamaterials

    Gregory Uyeda

    Assistant Research Professor, Department of Applied Physics and Materials Science

    Email: Gregory.Uyeda@nau.edu
    Phone: 928-523-2625
    Research interests: Spectroscopy, scanning probe microscopy, optical microscopy, photochemistry, photosynthesis

    Robert L. Whetten

    Professor, Department of Applied Physics and Materials Science

    Email: Robert.Whetten@NAU.edu
    Phone: 928-523-5517
    Research interests: Molecular & discrete metallurgy; chemical physics of protected metallic clusters; structure and bonding

    Miguel Jose Yacaman

    Professor, Department of Applied Physics and Materials Science

    Email: Miguel.Yacaman@nau.edu
    Phone: 928-523-5518
    Research interests: Properties of Nanomaterials, Synthesis of nanostructures, Electron Microscopy, Nanoparticles